As I woke up, only one thing was certain, I wasn’t falling anymore. I wasn’t even on earth, unsure wether this alternate plane was part of our universe, or a parallel dimension altogether.
Whatever it was, it had stopped me from achieving my final goal, but under the circumstances, I found myself  not really caring, for I was intrigued, overwhelmed by curiosity. A spark lit up inside me and I felt arrogance and eagerness to learn sprouting within.
I was apparently weightless and floating, which made it hard for me to decide wether I was moving or not, but I was under the impression that I stood still.
Suddenly the mesmerizing mist of shades of purple and black ignited and images began to fade into existence.
These images seemed earthly, but were unlike any I had ever seen.
A herd of wondrous horned, woolly golden creatures grazed proudly on lush grass of unbelievable shades of green. The clearest seas of the deepest shades of blue were filled the brim with life in its most various forms, all living in perfect harmony. Beautiful, yet eerily mysterious forests, composed of the strangest, most colourful plants housed curious critters, scaly, furry and others covered in a chitinous armour of sorts. Snowy peaks being circled by flying creatures of a distant past, reptiles, mammals, birds and crosses of the aforementioned.
And suddenly: look, there, a human!

For the first time in a long one, my heart rejoyced at the sight of one of my own and I was certain to be staring at some kind of earth, no matter how strange.

Then, buildings began to emerge, some, simple huts and clay-igloos, others were far more adorned. In them, these primal folk made various sacrifices of the utmost brutality. It started to dawn on me how gruesome the humans actually were, stopping at nothing to ensure their reign over all that their god had given them. And more.
Animals were hunted to extinction and blood tributes were paid. Terror reigned over entire civilizations, as the ones with power became greedy and spared no expense to attain dominance. Horrid creatures were summoned, because we were foolish enough to believe we were their masters. Gargantuan, nightmarish demons were brought into existence. Stygian beasts ravaged entire nations. But somehow, humanity endured, not by force or courage, but by cowardice. By murdering and offering all others, a select few survived and they swore never to tamper with the unknown again.

Millenia passed and civilizations began popping up all around. We were more civilized, not as prone to being overwhelmed by greed and hatred and apparently on the right track.
I stared in awe as Atlantis crumbled beneath the waves, and Pompeia was covered in ash. And I marvelled at the fabled Shangri- La and the Elysian Fields.

Soon enough, people started uncovering forlorn objects of unholy nature and, having learned from their ancestors mistakes, coupled them with the basic machinery and technology of that era, in order to create highly complex and powerful mechanisms.

But as scholars began to attain higher levels of understanding of the very fabric of our existence, the commonfolk developed an uncontrollable hatred for that which they could not comprehend. And so that too, fell to the age-old combination of a blade and some murderous intent.

As history repeated itself, so did the uncovering of ancient knowledge. Eventually even walking became obsolete and shortly after, many more “unnecessary” activities were soon to follow. We were drunk off power, nothing could face us, nothing could defeat us.

Then, something happened. Suddenly the vision changed and I was faced once again with the eldritch fiends the primordial ones had summoned. But this time, they had been summoned by someone on accident, yet he did not seem suprised by this otherworldy invasion. There were quizzical contraptions surrounding this tragic character, who had now adopted a look of utmost horror. But there was something else, he looked ashamed, he looked regretful, as if he might have done something to stop this Beelzebubian Blizkrieg. But it made no sense; he didn’t expect this, so how could he have prevented it?

My mind started spinning and I had to close my eyes, I had to take some time to process what I had just witnessed.
All that existed and is now lost, all that we knew but allowed to be forgotten…
There it came again, the burning hatred I had felt so many a time before. Our greed killed all those incredible creatures that had amazed me long ago, our bloodlust led to the extinction of animals that had once inspired us with awe.
Our need to prove our superiority made us commit such unspeakable acts of genocide, animal and human alike.
But that was not enough, we had to search the void for new trophies. It nearly cost us our existence, yet we managed to pull through, but at what cost? History just repeated itself and those foul deeds just kept resurfacing, more modern in execution, but in essence, the same.

I clenched my fists in anger and frustration.

This is it, the ultimate taunt. Only now that I’m dead, do I receive access to all this knowledge.
What a punchline to the tasteless joke that is me!

I was overcome by rage and my monologue soon made its way outside, with me shouting into the darkness.

“WHAT DO YOU WANT FROM ME!?!

  WHY DO YOU MOCK ME!?

  YOU MOTHERFU- “

Once again, I was interrupted just before getting vulgar, this time not by a blackout, but by something emerging from the colourless haze.

